A Shadow in the Ember by Jennifer L Armentrout

On Jennifer Armentrout’s website, it gives a recommended reading order for the From Blood and Ash series as well as the Flesh and Fire series. After The Crown of Gilded Bones, we’re to skip over to A Shadow in the Ember, the first in The Flesh and Fire series.

A quote from A Shadow in the Ember by Jennifer L Armentrout

I really had no idea of what to expect going into reading this one, other than I thought it was about the first Chosen. In that, I was right. Seraphena Mierel was born to be the Maiden. She was Chosen before birth to be the consort of the Primal of Death.

A quote from A Shadow in the Ember by Jennifer L Armentrout

But Sera is not only groomed to be the consort. No, she trains as an assassin. Sera knows the only weakness that a Primal has is love. Therefore, she must convince the Primal of Death to love her.

A Shadow in the Ember by Jennifer L Armentrout

Brief Summary (while trying not to give everything away)

In A Shadow in the Ember, Sera is rejected by the Primal of Death, but her mother refuses to allow her to live her life. Every year she must return to await the Primal’s decision. Yet, he does not return. But what happens when she meets Ash?


Oh my, the twists just keep coming. We know of Nyktos from the third book in the Blood and Ash series. But now he’s front and center in this one. It’s amazing how Jennifer Armentrout has built this world and yet, is still revealing new pieces all the time. If you’re a fan of fantasy, you REALLY need to read these!

Jennifer Pitney is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

I write three blog posts a week- one about a fantasy book, one about a mystery book, and one about a romance book (with some posts about series thrown in). This one is a fantasy so if you’re a fantasy lover, then you’ll want to check it out!

Be sure to follow my Facebook page and my Instagram to learn more…

Want to get each blog post delivered to your inbox every Wednesday? Click here to join the email list.

Check out the beginning of this series…

Want to see even more fantasy books?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *